Opening Doors to the Future Through Education


New scholarships are awarded once a year at our April Board Meeting. Applications must be received in the TSEF office by APRIL 15TH of each year. You must submit the completed application, which includes a photo, transcript, essay, 3 sealed letters of recommendation, and a copy of your FAFSA award/denial notification. Incomplete and/or late applications WILL NOT be processed. Also, please do not apply if all of your charges are covered by other scholarships and grants. Tri State will not be billed and will not pay if a student has a credit balance.

Should the Foundation receive an application deemed as a hardship, the Board may then consider and award a scholarship at any given time.


Tri State Scholarships are supplemental scholarships. This means that Tri State will pay AFTER all other scholarships and grants have been applied to the student's account. Payments will be made directly to the school once we receive billing for the student. Tri State funds may ONLY be used for items billed through the college/university, such as tuition, books, necessary supplies (must be approved by Tri State), fees, on-campus meal plans, and/or dormitory. These items may vary by school. Some schools are able to bill for books and supplies, and some are not.

Tri State will not be billed and will not pay if a student's charges are fully covered by other scholarships and grants. Again, our scholarships are supplemental.

Tri State funds undergraduate degrees in any field and graduate degrees in education only. Tri State does not fund classes or degrees that are entirely online (with the exception of online graduate programs in Education at a university in Mississippi or at the University of North Alabama).


Article II of the by-laws of the Tri State Educational Foundation identifies priority areas as: the population residing in a school district lying within or touching a 50 mile radial circle of Iuka, MS will receive priority consideration, with Iuka and Tishomingo County receiving first consideration. However, other educational needs in other areas throughout the state may be considered at times.

Students residing in the following 18 counties may apply for a Tri State Scholarship:

Mississippi: Alcorn, Lee, Itawamba, Prentiss, Tippah, Tishomingo, and Union

Alabama: Colbert, Franklin, Lauderdale, Lawrence, and Marion

Tennessee: Chester, Hardeman, Hardin, Lawrence, McNairy, and Wayne



To apply for a scholarship, please fill out our Tri State Scholarship Application. Applications must be received in our office by the April 15th deadline.


If you are in your last semester of funding and are planning to reapply for future funds, you'll need to submit a Reapplication Form. Forms must be received in our office by the April 15th deadline.

Documents on this page are furnished as Adobe® PDF documents.
You may download the free Adobe Reader here:

© 2010 Tri State Educational Foundation. All rights reserved.
Adobe and Adobe Reader are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Adobe Systems Incorporated in the United States and/or other countries.